Our Zillow General Rating: 5 stars


  • Rating: 5 stars 2017-06-01
  • Waterstone Mortgage Grayslake Gets It Done!!

  • zuser20170301191404311
  • The Team at Waterstone in Grayslake is amazing! Great communication, minimal back and forth, no hiccups or surprises at the end. Getting all the info to them was super easy through their portal. They always took our calls and stayed on the schedule and tasks. Wes was super easy to work with and took great care of us! They made it easy!

  • Rating: 5 stars 2017-05-01
  • Convenient- great partner

  • tonyjrocha
  • Bryans team put out a great deal of effort in making the process simple and seamless. They called me 30 minutes prior to closing to check in and make himself available during the closing process. Awesome customer care. Thanks Bryan

  • Rating: 5 stars 2017-03-01
  • Phenomenal Service from Waterston Mortgage Bryan Schmidt's Team!

  • zuser20141023084304554
  • I don't think there is enough room to say how much I appreciated the way I was treated and the whole process from my first phone call to the day they called and said congratulations on my new home! I had my first meeting to go over paperwork with Mary but my main contact was Wes. Both of them were so professional yet had such a lighthearted down-to-earth disposition. I was treated like I have been with the team for years. The process was so smooth and easy to follow. I received a phone call anytime there was a slight change of any sort so in the end there were no surprises. I also received a weekly email with how the process was coming along. I will always keep my ears open for anyone looking for a lender and without hesitation recommend Waterstone Mortgage Bryan Schmidt's Team!

  • Rating: 5 stars 2017-03-01
  • Awesome and Easy Experience

  • zuser20140226124005554
  • Wes was awesome. He explained everything in great detail and in terms I could understand. He was very knowledgable on all aspects of the buying process. He always kept in touch and gave me weekly updates on what was needed from all parties involved. He did a great job of gathering all the information needed so the process was kept smooth. Wes made a stressful process way less stressful and I thank everyone for making it possible for me to buy my home!

  • Rating: 5 stars 2017-02-01
  • Easy Process

  • danielmartini07
  • Bryan and his team could not have made any easier the entire process for us buying our new/first home. From the first day to closing, his team was on point and always available to not answer our questions, but specially to stay on top of everything needed, including contacting all parties involved. Happy to have met Bryan and his team early on in our decision to buy a home.

  • Rating: 5 stars 2016-10-01
  • PERFECT

  • elisabeth becerra88
  • As a 1st time home buyer we didn't know what to expect but WMC-Bryan S. team made it possible for us. We loved the whole process; they always kept us informed with our route on purchasing a home. It was a perfect a comfortable process and was as easy as 123. I would not change anything about the team that helped us with our achievement in life. Job well done! Thank you Bryan Schmidt Team.

  • Rating: 5 stars 2017-02-01
  • Bryan is THE BEST in this idustry!!

  • dmruiz4
  • This is a 5 STAR REVIEW!!! Bryan Schmidt and his team are awesome, and everyone on the team is great to work with! One thing for sure is that they deliver on what they promise! I met Bryan almost 3 years ago, and I have been working with him and his team ever since. He is amazing, and very knowledgeable about his industry, and Rhiannon is the very best at what she does as well. I have never encountered a more professional group of people in the mortgage industry in my life, and I will forever be appreciative and indebted to them for all their help, guidance, support and assistance. I recommend EVERYONE who is looking for a mortgage whether to refinance or purchase, no matter what your situation is, to call Byan's team at Waterstone Mortgage to get your loan done! Dawn Ruiz

  • Rating: 5 stars 2016-11-01
  • Extremely knowledgeable

  • jlorele
  • The entire team was so friendly and knew how to get things done to the point we were able to close a week early! Everything went as smooth as butter👍

  • Rating: 5 stars 2016-11-01
  • They're all great!

  • sullyg30
  • It was our first time buying a home and Brian and his team made the process extremely easy. The process went through so fast and smooth. They're honest people and do everything they can to help you achieve your goal of having your home. When I had a question, they would respond right away. If they didn't know the answer, they quickly had someone else call you back... very highly recommended.

  • Rating: 5 stars 2016-09-01
  • My mortgage experience...

  • scholtensbaby
  • Waterstone was one of three mortgage origination firms that I was looking at for the purchase of our new home. After meeting with Bryan and his team, I knew there was no other choice. Every step of our process was communicated and executed well and we closed a VA loan a week AHEAD of schedule. I could not have been happier with their performance and I highly recommend this team of professionals.

Zillow.com Reviews
05/01/17 
I am in the process of purchasing my first house and was referred to Bryan and the team by a very close personal friend of mine Carol A. I am impressed with the process thus far. Kathy H is a gem at the company, she is psychic I think as I was about to call them to schedule a time to come in, she called me 30 seconds first! After my meeting yesterday I had to run and handle a family emergency and she text me and asked if I made it on time, that sealed the deal for me, they CARE ABOUT PEOPLE. I am excited to work with them, i referred my sister 10 minutes after I left and she will be working with them! Bravo TEAM! -Jimmy

Chris Zager

03/01/17
A great group to deal with from the first phone call to the end of the process. Brian is a straight shooter and will sit down with you and go through everything with you over and over again until you have a solid understanding of anything that you do not understand. I also want to point out that even though he wants your business he also wants to make sure it the right move for you financially. I can’t say enough how much my wife and I appreciated all of his help. Also, everyone one in his office is awesome. Give them a call you can’t go wrong

Gail Eisenberg

2016
Kathy Haupt and Bryan Schmidt are very dedicated and helpful. I would definitely recommend Waterstone Mortgage Grayslake to anyone. Whenever I walk into Waterstone they make sure that they are very attentive and responsive to my needs. Bryan is very knowledgable about all current mortgage products.

Jim Starwalt

2016
Bryan and the entire Waterstone team are organized and very efficient. This is the go to guy for anything you need as far mortgages.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    6/7/2016 at 7:45 AM – meganesnow

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    We first contacted Bryan to see if buying a house was even possible for us. When he first met with us he took his time to educate us on financial responsibility and helped us realize that we actually could purchase a home for the first time in 7 years. He took his time (on several different occasions) to make sure we were comfortable and understood our options. He and his staff were also very careful not to over promise anything and in the end everything worked out well in our favor. Bryan and his staff made sure to stay in touch on a weekly basis to ensure everything was moving along as it should. We love our new home and owe Bryan and his team a huge thank you for their part it making it all happen.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    6/7/2016 at 6:31 AM – user6250172

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    This team made the whole process as easy and transparent as possible. I could not imagine buying a house without their support. It is rare you find a place that can make you feel like it is your own family looking after you. A big thanks to Brian and his team. I highly recommend working with them, even if you are just in the planning stages of buying a house.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    6/6/2016 at 11:31 PM – cvelkover

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    I highly recommend Bryan Schmidt and his team. I don’t write reviews but I decided to given due to the exceptional experience I had. One is probably thinking…how can a person have a exceptional experience when trying to buy a house and getting a mortgage. Well let me explain, I sold my house and my realtor recommended Bryan and I figured I’ll get pre-approved with him and just switch to someone else when I get ready to purchase. WOW did he and his team change my mind on that from the minute that I walked in the door to get pre-approved. The people were so welcoming and nice that I wanted to give them my business. Each meeting with them they were willing to still down with me and take their time and go over everything in detail and were happy to answer all my questions. I had weekly calls and was always updated as to where my loan was in the process. I know that this may sound funny but I have gone through a refinance where I have had to send the same paperwork multiple times and always talked to a different person that really had no idea what was happening (they always had to call me back and of course I was not there when they called and I had to repeat this painful situation over and over). When it got closer to close we talked more often and I always knew what was going on. Not once did I have to call to find out what was happening, they were always calling me with updates. The day of my close they called and explained how the day was going to go so I know what to expect. Then the biggest surprise to me was that Bryan showed up at my closing to make sure that everything was going ok! Who does that?? As I said before I don’t write reviews but they made the entire process so easy I had to! Exceptional Service from everyone on that team! Highly recommended!

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/26/2016 at 12:47 PM – akallenbach1080

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    Our experience with Bryan’s team was excellent. They helped us through the process of obtaining a mortgage and never let us down. Bryan would handle things both personally or utilize other staff members when he thought we would be better served with their expertise. Bryan attended our closing and followed through on everything we expected. We will definitely use Bryans team when we look for a mortgage for our vacation property.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/18/2016 at 9:04 AM – GLakeLady

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    Bryan’s team was amazing to work with. They provided the metrics that gave the whole process the transparency we were looking for and provided a more consultative approach when reviewing our finances and loan options.

    The whole team was amazingly responsive and Bryan even came to the closing to make sure all documents were in the right place. Since we purchased our home without a realtor we really appreciated the attention given to us that we wouldn’t have gotten elsewhere. I believe this team would provide the same level of service regardless of if you’re buying a $100k home or a $900k home – highly recommend this team and we will use them again.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/17/2016 at 4:45 PM – NickMaghielse

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    Bryan and his team are the most professional and caring staff I have ever worked with. I have closed on multiple homes and the sellers agents and title companies just rave about their experience with my mortgage broker.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/16/2016 at 6:10 PM – aplayerh

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    They were very responsive and willing to work with me after prior engagements hit a snag. They were very knowledgeable and had answers to all my questions. They were also able to close very quickly due to time restraints.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/13/2016 at 10:20 AM – yesenia slv

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    Very pleased and thankful for all they did for us with the property we purchased being our first home we had tons of questions and they were always an email or phone call away. I have already referred 4 people to them which are very pleased with this great team as well.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/12/2016 at 10:09 AM – starrmom2

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    This was the first time I bought a house on my own so I was very confused with what was going on. Bryon and his team were very patient with me even though I must have asked the same questions over and over. I would highly recommend Bryon and his team to anyone.

    Whenever I “pop” into the office to say “Hi”, everyone is very nice to me and are glad to see me.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/11/2016 at 9:14 PM – zuser20150912160454816

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    I would highly recommend Bryan Schmidt and his team. They walked us through step by step on what was going on and the communication was great we got a call and emails every week to tell us what was going on. They were so amazing and fought for us we had a few rough patches but got through them because of these wonderful people, If it was not for them we would not be closing on our house. From the bottom of our hearts we are so greatful for everything they have done. Thank you so much

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/11/2016 at 8:24 AM – michaelmandy42

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    We were amazed at the level of care Bryan and his team gave to us. Starting out Bryan sat down with both of us and carefully took us through the mortgate process explaining each step and question we had fully and with understanding. While this process from the onset seemed imtimidating Bryan brought an air of comfort and openness we were not expecting. We walked away from each meeting confident in our choice of real estate professional by the treatment and respect we received.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 7:44 PM – KAkalaonu

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    First time buyers! We were so new at everything, and very happy that Mr. Schmidt was patient with us. From pre approval to signing he was with us every step of the way and answered every question we had.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 6:26 PM – user08074565

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    I couldn’t ask for a better company to work with. Amazing and walk you through everything. They were honest and didn’t lie about what you can afford. I will work with them again.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 4:46 PM – frankakapute

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    In all my dealings with Bryan Schmidt, I had no cause to complain. Every visit I made to the offices of Bryan Schmidt, something positive came out of it. Complex financial issues that I did not understand was explained to me. They listened to me and helped everything step of the way.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 12:54 PM – travis brown 8265

    CLOSED REFINANCE LOAN.

    Bryan and his team were excellent to work with. They answered all my questions in timely manner. Even though I probably scrutinized the documents more than most they were always happy to take to time to explain everything. It was a simple process to refinance our home and they connected us with a great title company.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 11:15 AM – jenny woyahn

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    My experience working with Bryan and the Waterstone Mortgage Team was very good! They are professional and knowledgeable and help me understand how the loan process works. They are very quick with responses of any questions you have and they get things done fast. I was ready to close on my very first house about 20 days early which was great! They make sure the process of buying a house is stress free. I felt like part of the family!

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 11:15 AM – amarjanovic

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    Bryan and his team are extremely knowledgeable and helped my boyfriend and I purchase our first home together. The entire process was a breeze and they were there with us every step of the way. I could always count on them to make time to speak with us and answer all of our questions. We were able to purchase our dream home in a very short amount of time and I know it would not have been so easy if it had not been for Bryan and the entire Waterstone Mortgage team.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 10:56 AM – jw05kw

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    His very helpful and explains a lot to first time buyers. Let’s you know how things will work with your payments on you house and the other things it come with. Nice person to work with and his team is very nice too.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 10:49 AM – user8370813

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    I don’t think I can fully explain how much I appreciated Bryan and his awesome team when my husband and I bought our first house! As soon as we started talking about locked interest rates and FHA vs. Conventional Mortgages, it was easy for me to get lost in all the new terms I didn’t know. But Bryan and Wes (and his whole team) explained the process so well, and made it really easy for me to understand. They went above and beyond to meet with my husband and I when it was convenient for our busy schedules. I can’t thank Waterstone enough! Highly recommend!

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 10:39 AM – user7574612

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    I never had a doubt in my mind my wife and I made the best decision choosing Bryan Schmidt Waterstone Mortgage as our lender! Bryan and team did such an amazing job making our home purchase simplistic as possible! His team was accessible and attentive anytime I called or sent an email. They would take time explaining the why instead of just saying we need this. I will be referring every person I know who is in the market to buy a home to them going forward. Thank you Bryan Schmidt and team for assisting us in our next chapter in life and making our dreams come true!

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 10:26 AM – mwsobecki

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    Bryan and his team worked with me from the beginning to the end of the process to close on my new house. Bryan and his team worked with me faster than the other mortgage company that I was working with. They help you close on the house a lot faster and quicker than any other mortgage company. Bryan and his team did an excellent job to make sure you get financial settled for a new home. They never let you go for a home you can’t afford. If you need anything Bryan Schmidt and his team are always there to help you.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 10:21 AM – ajbukiewicz

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    My wife and I are forever grateful to Bryan and his team for helping us through the process of purchasing our dream home! We came to them with very little knowledge about the process of applying for a loan, but they helped us through it, every step of the way. Their team was incredibly responsive, answering all of our questions in a timely matter and helping us to navigate all of the steps needed to purchase our home. Bryan is the kind of guy that takes the time to meet the needs of his clients – whether as a listening ear, or as someone that can give knowledgeable advice with regards to finances, budgeting and the home loan process. Bryan and his team are an asset to anyone that it looking to purchase a home and we will always recommend them to anyone who might be looking!

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 10:04 AM – genie14

    CLOSED REFINANCE LOAN.

    Working with the Bryan Schmidt Team is a pleasure! It’s tough sometimes having to know you need to get a mortgage or cash out for bills but these guys NEVER once ever made me feel like I was being looked down on. THE EXACT OPPOSITE! I walk in and they offer me something to drink, enjoy a snack and then sit and relax as they explain how the process will proceed and the time table. Then his team CALLS me with each update and asks me if I have any questions or need anything. I closed earlier than the projected time line because of the great work this team did for me. The Bryan Schmidt Waterstone Mortgage has a great team and I HIGHLY recommend ALL my friends and family to go to Bryan Schmidt’s office and work with a trustworthy, competent team. You won’t believe how easy it is to secure a mortgage!

    RESPONSE FROM BRYAN

    Genie you’re so sweet!

    5/11/2016 at 2:59 PM

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 10:03 AM – brendasalinas025

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    My husband and I just purchased our first home. We loved working with Bryan’s team, they were very helpful in explaining the process to us. Their responses were always timely and we really did not ever have to call with questions because they are so proactive.

    I would highly recommend them!

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 9:50 AM – user2593691

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    After a very frustrating experience with another lender, it was refreshing experience to work with Bryan and his team. They were very helpful in finding us the right fit for us, and took the time to listen to our concerns, answer our questions and offer reasonable solutions. We are grateful for everything the team did for us.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/10/2016 at 9:34 AM – kimberly kirk

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    I purchased my home and used Waterstone Mortgage in Grayslake for my lender.

    Working with Bryan Schmidt and his team was a wonderful experience.

    Everything went according to plan and all team members were friendly and knowledgeable. Bryan is professional and detailed. I would recommend him to my family and friends. The closing went smoothly I was in and out in no time, way to go Waterstone Mortgage. Thumbs up all around!!

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/5/2016 at 7:14 PM – jimhau2

    CLOSED REFINANCE LOAN.

    My wife and I were upside down in out house and never thought we could refinance. We asked our current mortgage company many times and they kept saying there was nothing they could do for us. We also were nearly finished with our chapter 13 Bankruptcy and wasn’t sure how that would effect our chances either. Bryan was able to find a loan program that fit our needs. Turns out all worked out thanks to Bryan and his team! We were able to refinance to a better loan program, better rate but most of all a lower payment! We saved $500 a month! AMAZING! It really was a dream come true. No one had the patience to find a way to help us but Bryan never gave up. I always recommend Bryan!

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/3/2016 at 8:05 AM – schwarttm

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    Bryan and the team were great to work with. Everyone was very pleasant and knowledgeable. Bryan made the mortgage process fast and painless. I highly recommend him and the team.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    5/2/2016 at 11:38 AM – russj142

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    We were referred to Bryan from a friend that knew we were looking to move, and would need some financial advise. Having a prior bankruptcy that included our mortgage, we didn’t even know if we could get a new loan. Also, my husband is self employed, with fluctuating income month to month. At our first meeting, after hearing our situation, and reviewing the paperwork we had brought, Bryan was straightforward with us about what our options were. There was some homework involved on our part, and it took a couple months of detailed budgeting. Following his advise, and with the guidance and help from his great team, we were approved for a loan to purchase a much needed larger home. I would recommend Bryan to anyone. He doesn’t want to “sell” you a mortgage. He ensures that whatever loan you are wanting to secure, it will be within your financial ability to do so. And he’s honest, if it won’t work, he will tell you. I am so grateful for his help and “coaching” us along the way. I have already recommended him to my sister and another friend.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    4/27/2016 at 9:57 PM – debisuke

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    I have used Bryan as an agent and a mortgage broker. He came highly recommended to me from a respected friend and he was fantastic. He is great for the shrewd buyer offering great insight and even spending time to explain a vast array of mortgage vehicles with pros and cons, always with numbers (that is a key difference), how they can and cannot be used together, putting it all together to meet our long term goals. Without him, I doubt I would have been able to now own 6 rental units in Chicago. I recommend him to my family or friends, even if they aren’t thinking about buying a property.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    4/27/2016 at 9:51 PM – bdjsem

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    A pleasure to do business with him and his team. Very professional . Very honest helpful and knowledgeable. Mr. Bryan and and his team won’t waste your time.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    4/27/2016 at 11:38 AM – s cohen4

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    Bryan is a very knowledgeable person with great integrity. I used Bryan’s company to close on a piece of real-estate and everyone was very helpful and professional. I would use him again for any of my mortgage needs.

    Steve Cohen

    Paper Traders

  • Highly likely to recommend

    4/26/2016 at 10:33 PM – LethamB

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    Bryan and his team were recommended to me by an extremely knowledgeable real estate agent; it was a recommendation I’m grateful to have received.

    Bryan performed a very astute review of my financial portfolio and quickly developed several insightful mortgage options that were way more advantageous for me than I had anticipated. Bryan and his team shepherded me through the mortgage process, and the end result was I was able to buy a house that was beyond my expectations. Thanks to the research Bryan performed on my specific financial position the mortgage he helped obtain has proven to be well within my budget.

    Since then I have used Bryan’s services to perform refinances on my previously purchased investment properties; this work alone is saving me over $800 a month. I have worked with many other mortgage firms while buying and selling properties over the years, and Bryan’s is by far the best. The level of analysis, communication, and responsiveness of Bryan and team is second to none. At any time during the process I could call any member of his team and they would precisely know what my application status was and what would be happening next. This level of personal involvement and regular communication is certainly better than I have ever experienced before.

    I have in turn recommended Bryan and his team to my friends and they have all had very positive experiences. I’m grateful for all of Bryan’s work, and will continue to recommend his services to everyone.

  • Highly likely to recommend

    4/26/2016 at 8:52 PM – SalvadorColores Jr

    CLOSED PURCHASE LOAN.

    I was referred to Bryan by my realtor Bryan and I met at his office and went over everything I needed in order to purchase my first home. Him and his team were on top of everything and had all answers I needed Bryan was involved in every step of the process and informed me of any detail no matter how small it was he stayed with me and continued to keep in contact after the closing of my home